About ethanol content in gasoline

Ethanol  

Helping to reduce fossil fuel emissions.
Ethanol is a non-fossil fuel that is produced from a variety of agricultural crops such as sugarcane, corn and wheat. As of December 15, 2010, Canada’s Renewable Fuels Regulations require an average renewable fuel content of 5% in gasoline.*

How much ethanol is in regular gasoline?

Almost all regular gasoline now has some ethanol in it. Our Esso branded gasoline currently contains up to 10%. Gasoline with 10% ethanol content is known as E10, and with 15% ethanol it’s known as E15. Ethanol flex fuel (formerly known as E85) has between 51% and 83% ethanol, with the remainder being gasoline. E15 is only appropriate for use in flex fuel vehicles or a very small percentage of the newest vehicles. Anything higher than E15 ethanol content is only appropriate in flex fuel vehicles. Refer to your owner’s manual to confirm your vehicle’s requirements.

Have a question about ethanol?

View our FAQs

   

  • Quality fuel to get you where you're going

    Discover what steps we take to ensure the quality of our fuels.

    Learn more
  • The right fuel for your vehicle

    Get more out of your engine, and your journey, with Esso Synergy™ gasoline.

    Learn more
  • Get more out of every trip

    Explore our comprehensive list of tips to help you improve fuel efficiency and get more out of every trip.

    Learn more
  • Esso SynergyTM gasoline

    Learn more about our SynergyTM gasoline, powered by 7 key ingredients and engineered to help improve fuel economy.**

    Learn more
Esso and Esso Extra are trademarks of Imperial Oil Limited. Imperial Oil, licensee.
*Sources: "Ethanol" and "Ethanol: Government Programs and Regulations" Natural Resources Canada. 16 Nov. 2013. Government of Canada. 06 May 2014
**Improvements, such as fuel economy, are based based on Synergy-branded gasoline, where available, compared to gasoline meeting minimum Canadian government detergency standards. Actual benefits will vary depending on factors such as vehicle type, driving style, and gasoline previously used. All trademarks used herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of Exxon Mobil Corporation or one of its subsidiaries.
Loading

Éthanol  

Contribuer à réduire les émissions de combustibles fossiles.
L’éthanol est un carburant non fossile provenant d’une variété de cultures comme la canne à sucre, le maïs et le blé. Depuis le 15 décembre 2010, le Règlement sur les carburants renouvelables du Canada exige une teneur moyenne de 5 % de carburant renouvelable dans l’essence*.

Quelle est la teneur en éthanol de l’essence ordinaire ?

Pratiquement toute l’essence ordinaire comporte désormais un peu d’éthanol. Dans notre essence Esso, la teneur en éthanol peut atteindre 10 %. L’essence contenant 10 % d’éthanol s’appelle E10, tandis que celle contenant 15 % d’éthanol s’appelle E15. Le polycarburant (anciennement appelé E85) se compose de 51 à 83 % d’éthanol, le reste étant de l’essence. Le carburant E15 ne convient qu’aux véhicules à polycarburant ou à un très faible pourcentage des véhicules récents. Tout carburant dont la teneur en éthanol surpasse celle du E15 ne convient qu’aux véhicules fonctionnant au polycarburant. Consultez votre manuel du propriétaire pour connaître ce dont votre véhicule a besoin.

Foire aux questions

Cliquez ici
  • Une qualité sur laquelle vous pouvez compter

    Découvrez les mesures que nous prenons pour assurer la qualité de nos carburants.

    En savoir plus
  • Un carburant pour chaque véhicule

    Tirez le maximum de votre moteur – et de votre trajet – grâce à l’essence et au diesel SynergyMC d’Esso.

    En savoir plus
  • Profitez de nos conseils

    Explorez notre liste complète de conseils pour vous aider à améliorer le rendement énergétique de votre véhicule et à tirer le meilleur parti de chaque trajet.

    En savoir plus
  • Logo Technologie carburant Synergy

    Voici l’essence Synergy d’Esso

    Découvrez notre essence SynergyMC, composée de 7 ingrédients clés et conçue pour contribuer à réduire la consommation de carburant.**

    En savoir plus
Esso et Esso Extra sont des marques de commerce de la Compagnie Pétrolière Impériale Ltée. Pétrolière Impériale, licencié.  
*Source : « Éthanol » et « Éthanol - Programmes et règlements gouvernementaux ». Ressources naturelles Canada. Le 16 novembre 2013. Gouvernement du Canada. Le 6 mai 2014.
**Les améliorations, comme le rendement du carburant, sont basées sur l’essence de marque Synergy en comparaison avec de l’essence qui répond aux normes minimales du gouvernement canadien sur la détergence des carburants. Les avantages réels varient en fonction de facteurs comme le type de véhicule, le style de conduite et le type d’essence utilisé précédemment. Les marques de commerce utilisées aux présentes sont des marques de commerce ou des marques déposées d’Exxon Mobil Corporation ou de l’une de ses filiales.
Loading