Hockey Kids

Community support  

Locally-focused. Globally-minded.

Investing in the communities where we live and work

Imperial has been investing in the communities in which we live, work and play since we gave our first donation to a fishermen’s mission in Newfoundland in the 1890s. Over the years we’ve invested millions of dollars into communities in Canada, worked with hundreds of organizations and spent tens of thousands of hours in volunteer time.

The following are just a few examples of the ways in which we endeavor to make positive and lasting contributions to people’s lives.

Proud to be part of the past, present and future of Canadian hockey

Imperial has been closely linked to Canada’s national sport since sponsoring the first national radio broadcasts of professional hockey in 1936. Our sponsorship today is focused on hockey events, activities and programs that support kids and local communities across Canada.
  • Esso Medals

    Since 1981, the Esso Medals and Certificates of Achievement program has helped coaches recognize achievement in their young players and encouraged everyone to dream big. It’s free for coaches to enroll, and the program honours dedication, effort, and fair play in young players on and off the ice.

    Learn more about this program and how to register your minor hockey team >

  • Esso Minor Hockey Week

    The annual Esso Minor Hockey Week in Calgary has grown to become one of the largest tournaments of its kind in Canada, attracting more than 600 teams and 12,000 players ranging in age from 7 - 21.

    Find information on this year's event >

  • Hockey events

    Esso "Fun Days" hockey clinics have introduced thousands of girls and women to the great game of hockey. This unique female hockey program introduces the basic fundamental skills and rules of the game to first-time female participants of all ages for no cost.

    Learn more >

Supporting math and science education in Canada

There are few investments more important today than promoting the skills and abilities of young Canadians. Imperial sponsors a wide range of programs to spark the interest of students in science, technology, engineering and math.
  • Let’s Talk Science

    Imperial contributes to the funding of this national science education organization that builds student interest in science through classroom workshops, teacher enrichment and research.

  • STEM Education with the University of Calgary

    The Imperial Oil Foundation funds research and development of joint programs through the University of Calgary that will enhance the learning and teaching of science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) in early school years, in addition to supporting an annual symposium drawing researchers from around the world.

  • International Mathematical Olympiad

    Every year top high school students from across Canada battle in a prestigious world mathematics competition, selected and trained through the Canadian Mathematical Society. Imperial is pleased to be a major sponsor of Canada’s team, providing funding for training, accommodation and travel.

Investing in Aboriginal communities

As important neighbours to many of our operations, Imperial strives to ensure local Aboriginal communities gain economic and community benefits from our presence. Our commitment and investment includes:
  • Training and developing skills for young people in Aboriginal communities. Since 2002, Imperial has invested over $1.3 million to support employment initiatives, school programs, technology scholarships and courses at the Six Nations Polytechnic in Ohsweken, Ontario.
  • Contributing to Aboriginal scholarships and education programs including the Cold Lake Operations Scholarship, the Norman Wells Operations Sahtu Aboriginal Scholarship, and the Science Education Employment Development Scholarship.
  • Consulting with Aboriginal communities and supporting business development. At our Kearl oil sands operation, we gathered input from local First Nations to help with reclamation planning. Imperial has also contracted the services of Aboriginal businesses to work at the Kearl site.




  • Energy to take you further

    The helpful services of Esso stations and Imperial provide the fuels and expertise to help power customers across Canada.

    Learn more
  • Environmental performance

    Read about some of the ways we’re working to improve environmental performance while pursuing reliable and affordable energy that is essential to human progress.

    Learn more
  • Careers and workforce

    From joining our Canadian head office to being part of our global team, Imperial is a dynamic and exciting place to work.

    Learn more
  • Helping businesses run efficiently

    From wholesale fuels and fuel system management to high quality marine and aviation fuel and more, Imperial can help keep businesses running more efficiently.

    Learn more
Loading...

Soutien communautaire  

Attention locale, vision globale.

Investir dans les collectivités où nous vivons et travaillons

L’Impériale investit dans les collectivités où elle est établie depuis son tout premier don à une mission pour pêcheurs de Terre-Neuve, dans les années 1890. Au fil des années, nous avons investi des millions de dollars dans nombre de collectivités au Canada, collaboré avec des centaines d’organisations et fait des dizaines de milliers d’heures de bénévolat.

Voici quelques-unes des nombreuses initiatives que nous mettons en œuvre pour apporter une contribution positive et durable au quotidien des gens d’ici.

Fière de soutenir les hockeyeurs canadiens d’hier, d’aujourd’hui et de demain

L’Impériale est étroitement liée au sport national des Canadiens depuis qu’elle a commandité la première radiodiffusion nationale d’un match de hockey professionnel en 1936. Aujourd’hui, nos efforts de commandite visent principalement des événements, des activités et des programmes sportifs destinés aux enfants et aux collectivités d’un bout à l’autre du pays.
  • Médailles Esso

    Depuis 1981, le programme de médailles Esso au mérite sportif et de certificats de participation aide les entraîneurs à rendre hommage aux exploits de leurs jeunes joueurs et encourage le monde à voir grand. Gratuit pour les entraîneurs qui veulent y adhérer, le programme honore le dévouement, l’effort et l’esprit sportif chez les jeunes hockeyeurs, tant sur la glace qu’à l’extérieur de celle-ci.

    Apprenez-en davantage sur le programme et découvrez comment y inscrire votre équipe de hockey mineur >

  • Semaine du hockey mineur Esso

    La Semaine du hockey mineur Esso de Calgary est maintenant l’un des plus importants tournois du genre au Canada, et attire chaque année plus de 600 équipes et plus de 12 000 joueurs âgés de 7 à 21 ans.


    Apprenez-en davantage sur le tournoi de cette année >
    (en anglais seulement)

  • Découvrir le hockey

    Le programme Découvrez le hockey avec Esso a permis d’initier des milliers de jeunes filles et de femmes à ce sport merveilleux. Ce programme unique offre aux participantes de tous âges leur premier contact avec le sport et leur enseigne gratuitement les aptitudes de base et les règles du jeu.

    Apprenez-en davantage sur le programme >

Encourager l’enseignement des mathématiques et des sciences au Canada

Peu d’investissements sont aussi rentables que ceux qui visent la promotion des connaissances et des compétences des jeunes Canadiens. L’Impériale soutient une vaste gamme de programmes destinés à susciter l’intérêt des enfants et des adolescents pour les sciences, les technologies, le génie et les mathématiques. Voici quelques-unes de nos initiatives dans le domaine de l’éducation.
  • Parlons Sciences

    L’Impériale contribue au financement de cette organisation nationale dont la mission est d’intéresser les jeunes à la science par l’entremise d’ateliers en salle de classe, de formation pédagogique et de recherche.

  • Collaboration avec l’Université de Calgary

    Conjointement avec l’Université de Calgary, la Fondation Pétrolière Impériale finance la recherche et le développement de programmes qui visent à bonifier l’apprentissage et l’enseignement des sciences, des technologies, du génie et des mathématiques à l’école primaire. Le programme compte également un symposium annuel qui attire des chercheurs du monde entier.

  • Olympiade internationale de mathématiques

    Chaque année, les plus brillants élèves de niveau secondaire au pays, sélectionnés et entraînés par la Société mathématique du Canada, rivalisent avec des jeunes du monde entier dans le cadre de ce prestigieux championnat mathématique international. À titre de fier commanditaire de la délégation canadienne, l’Impériale finance la formation, l’hébergement et les déplacements des jeunes.

S’engager auprès des communautés autochtones

L’Impériale aspire à ce que les communautés autochtones, voisines de plusieurs de nos opérations, tirent des avantages économiques et sociaux de notre présence. Notre engagement communautaire et nos investissements comprennent notamment :

  • Des programmes de formation et de perfectionnement professionnel pour les jeunes Autochtones. Depuis 2002, l’Impériale a versé plus de 1,3 million de dollars à l’établissement polytechnique des Six Nations d’Ohsweken, en Ontario, pour financer des initiatives d’emploi, des programmes scolaires et des bourses d’études dans le secteur des technologies.

  • La contribution aux bourses d’études et aux programmes d’éducation pour les Autochtones, notamment la bourse d’études de l’exploitation de Cold Lake, les bourses d’études pour les Autochtones de l’exploitation de Norman Wells (région de Sahtu) et les bourses de Science Education Employment Development (SEED).

  • La consultation des communautés autochtones et le soutien du développement des affaires. Dans le cadre de notre projet de sables pétrolifères de Kearl, en Alberta, nous avons intégré les commentaires et les préoccupations des communautés autochtones locales au plan de remise en état du site. L’Impériale a également retenu les services de plusieurs entreprises des Premières Nations sur le site de Kearl.



  • L’énergie pour aller plus loin

    Les stations Esso et Pétrolière Impériale offrent les carburants et le savoir-faire nécessaires pour propulser leurs clients partout au Canada.

    En savoir plus
  • Performance environnementale

    Découvrez quelques-unes des initiatives que nous mettons en œuvre pour améliorer notre performance environnementale tout en développant des sources d’énergie fiables et abordables qui permettent d’alimenter le progrès humain.

    En savoir plus
  • Carrières

    Que vous cherchiez à vous joindre au siège social canadien ou à gonfler les rangs de notre équipe mondiale, vous trouverez à l’Impériale un milieu de travail dynamique et stimulant.

    En savoir plus
  • Contribuer à l’efficacité des entreprises

    Carburants de gros, systèmes de gestion du carburant, carburants de qualité supérieure pour la marine et l’aviation... L’Impériale offre une variété de produits taillés sur mesure pour propulser les entreprises d’ici.

    En savoir plus
Loading...