Unleaded and Premium Unleaded Gas - Synergy Fuel from Exxon and Mobil

Our gasoline  

Helping to improve fuel economy and performance.

Introducing Esso SynergyTM Gasoline

7 key ingredients. Engineered to help improve fuel economy.**

Meet the team:
Solvent Fluid #1 – enables the additive ingredients to stay mixed and to flow, and not freeze at very cold temperatures
Solvent Fluid #2 – enables the detergent to be delivered in the most compact form, resulting in a more efficiently sized package
Anti-Adhesion Compound – helps prevent fuel detergents from forming a sticky film on the intake valves; which in turn helps prevent cold start problems at cold temperatures
Corrosion Inhibitor – helps prevent rust in fuel distribution system and/or key engine parts the fuel comes into contact with such as the gas tank and the intake valves
Demulsifier – helps keep water from getting entrained in our additive in the distribution system. Helps prevent accumulation of water in your gas tank by allowing it to be separated and removed
Fuel Detergent – helps provides excellent protection against intake valve deposits in traditional PFI (Port Fuel Injector) injection engines. Cleaner engine parts can lead to better improved fuel economy
Marker Molecules – ensures we can determine the correct amount of our additive is added to our gasoline

TOP TIER® SynergyTM gasoline – quality you can depend on

When you fill up at an Esso branded station, you can be confident you’re getting TOP TIER gasoline, every time. Our SynergyTM gasoline features 7 key ingredients for greater cleaning power and is engineered to help improve fuel economy and performance.**

Esso SynergyTM gasoline grades

Gasoline grades are based on octane ratings. The octane rating of gasoline tells you how much the fuel can be compressed before it spontaneously ignites. Esso gasoline is available in three octane grades across Canada and four in the greater Toronto area. To determine which SynergyTM gasoline grade is best for your vehicle, check your owner’s manual.


Learn more about octane ratings >

  • Esso Regular Gasoline

    Octane 87

    Our regular grade unleaded gasoline was developed to meet the needs of most vehicles in Canada and is our most popular gasoline.


  • Esso Extra Gasoline

    Octane 89

    Our midgrade unleaded gasoline was developed to meet the needs of vehicles that can benefit from a higher octane, such as some sport vehicles and high performance cars.

  • Esso Supreme Gasoline

    Octane 91


    Our premium grade unleaded gasoline was formulated with a higher octane level and more cleaning agents to meet the demands of some of today’s most advanced engines. Outside of Toronto and surrounding areas, Esso Supreme is the highest-octane gasoline available at Esso stations across Canada.

  • Esso SUPREME+ Gasoline

    Octane 93

    Esso SUPREME+, our highest octane gasoline, is only offered in select stations in the greater Toronto area. Esso SUPREME+ contains more cleaning agents than our other Esso gasoline grades, which, in turn, have higher levels of detergency than the minimum government standards.

FAQs about gasoline

When you purchase gasoline at an Esso-branded gas station, you can be sure your vehicle is receiving TOP TIER fuel. TOP TIER is a more stringent standard of gasoline that was established by a governing body of automakers and is recommended in vehicles’ owner manuals because it exceeds the minimum level of detergent additives mandated by the Canadian Government Standards Board (CGSB). Esso gasoline contains significantly higher detergent levels than CGSB requirements and has passed a series of deposit control performance tests, resulting in it being certified TOP TIER. Not only does our gasoline help keep vital engine parts clean, we also remove deposits as you drive.
Yes! Detergents are added to gasoline to help clean vital engine parts, including fuel injectors and intake valves. While the Canadian government has mandated that all gasoline marketed in Canada contains detergents, our gasoline contains significantly more than the minimum quantities required. A gasoline detergent is a lot like a household detergent, helping to remove any harmful deposit buildup on intake valves and keeping fuel injectors clean.*
If you filled your tank prior to the 1990's, you might remember that there were two choices of gasoline: "regular" and "unleaded." At the time, "regular" gasoline contained tetraethyl lead, which served as an octane booster in fuel. All vehicles manufactured after 1975 are built with catalytic converters and require unleaded gasoline. Catalytic converters help convert pollutants in exhaust to less toxic gasses such as carbon dioxide, nitrogen, and water vapor. Due to environmental concerns, leaded gasoline was phased out in the 1990’s and can no longer be sold at any gas station in Canada. Today, "regular gas" no longer refers to gasoline with lead content, but rather to a certain grade of unleaded gasoline.
The performance of gasoline is determined by multiple factors, including its antiknock quality (also known as octane rating), its volatility, and its detergency. Check your owner’s manual to see what octane rating is right for your vehicle.
Antiknock, also known as octane rating, is a measure of the gasoline's ability to resist knocking or pinging during combustion. Since it is gasoline vapor rather than liquid fuel that ignites, the air-to-fuel mixture must be correct for smooth combustion. The higher the octane rating, the greater the engine's resistance to knock. Some of the problems associated with knock are overheating of critical engine parts – namely valves, pistons and spark plugs. To minimize the effects of knocking, modern engines are equipped with knock sensors, which temporarily delay the spark timing in the piston’s compression cycle. While this prevents audible knocking, delaying the ignition spark also sacrifices engine efficiency.
Detergency is the performance characteristic of a gasoline that refers to its ability to clean and protect the fuel delivery system, including the carburetor or fuel injectors, and intake valves. A gasoline detergent is fundamentally like a household detergent. It is a molecule that affixes itself to dirt particles. As gasoline passes through a car's engine, the molecule helps clean away dirt particles and helps to prevent any harmful deposit build-up.
  • Quality fuel to get you where you're going

    Discover what steps we take to ensure the quality of our fuels.

    Learn more
  • The right fuel for your vehicle

    Get more out of your engine, and your journey, with Esso Synergy™ gasoline.

    Learn more
  • Get more out of every trip

    Explore our comprehensive list of tips to help you improve fuel efficiency and get more out of every trip.

    Learn more
  • Introducing Esso SynergyTM Gasoline

    Learn more about our new SynergyTM gasoline, powered by 7 key ingredients and engineered to help improve fuel economy.**

    Learn more
Esso and Esso Extra are trademarks of Imperial Oil Limited. Imperial Oil, licensee.
*Applies to Esso-branded gasoline compared to gasoline meeting minimum Canadian government detergency standards, where applicable. Actual benefits vary depending on factors such as vehicle type, driving style, and gasoline previously used.
**Improvements, such as fuel economy, are based based on Synergy-branded gasoline, where available, compared to gasoline meeting minimum Canadian government detergency standards. Actual benefits will vary depending on factors such as vehicle type, driving style, and gasoline previously used. All trademarks used herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of Exxon Mobil Corporation or one of its subsidiaries. 

Loading

Notre essence  

Voici l’essence SynergyMC d’Esso

Conçue afin de contribuer à réduire la consommation de carburant.**


Découvrez-les tous :

Agent solvant numéro 1 – Permet aux ingrédients additifs de rester mélangés pour conserver leur débit et de ne pas geler à des températures très basses.

Agent solvant numéro 2 – Permet au détergent d’être libéré sous sa forme la plus compacte afin d’optimiser la taille de conditionnement.

Composé antiadhésion – Empêche les détergents du carburant de former une pellicule collante sur les soupapes d’admission, ce qui en retour contribue à prévenir les problèmes de démarrage à froid à basse température.

Inhibiteur de corrosion – Contribue à prévenir la formation de rouille dans le système de distribution de carburant et sur les éléments clés du moteur qui sont en contact avec le carburant, comme le réservoir et les soupapes d’admission.

Désémulsifiant – Empêche l’eau de se disperser dans les additifs dans le système de distribution. Permet d’extraire l’eau afin d’éviter qu’elle ne s’accumule dans votre réservoir.

Détergent – Contribue à offrir une excellente protection contre les dépôts sur les soupapes d’admission des moteurs à injection classique (injection dans le conduit d’admission). Des pièces de moteurs plus propres peuvent contribuer à améliorer le rendement du carburant.

Traceurs moléculaires – Nous permettent de déterminer si la quantité d’additifs ajoutée à notre carburant est adéquate.

Fiez-vous à la qualité de notre essence Synergy de CATÉGORIE SUPÉRIEURE

Dans les stations Esso, vous pouvez faire le plein en sachant que vous achetez toujours de l’essence de CATÉGORIE SUPÉRIEURE. Notre essence SynergyMC, composée de 7 ingrédients clés aux propriétés nettoyantes accrues, a été conçue afin d’améliorer le rendement du carburant et la performance**.

Les catégories d’essence Esso

C’est l’indice d’octane qui définit les catégories d’essence. L’indice d’octane indique à quel point le carburant peut être comprimé avant la combustion spontanée. Les stations-service Esso proposent trois catégories d’essence partout au Canada et quatre dans la région du grand Toronto. Pour savoir quelle catégorie d’essence SynergyMC convient le mieux à votre véhicule, consultez votre manuel du propriétaire.

  • Essence ordinaire Esso

    Octane 87

    Notre essence ordinaire, qui est aussi la plus populaire, a été formulée pour satisfaire aux besoins de la majorité des véhicules en circulation au pays.

  • Essence Esso Extra

    Octane 89

    Notre essence intermédiaire a été formulée pour satisfaire aux besoins des véhicules capables de tirer profit d’une essence à indice d’octane plus élevé, dotée d’additifs détergents supplémentaires, comme certaines voitures sport ou hautement performantes.

  • Essence Esso Suprême

    Octane 91

    Notre essence super présente des agents nettoyants supplémentaires et un indice d’octane rehaussé pour satisfaire aux besoins de certains des moteurs les plus avancés au plan technologique. À l’extérieur de la région métropolitaine de Toronto, l’essence Esso Suprême est l’essence à indice d’octane le plus élevé offerte dans les stations Esso du Canada.

  • Essence Esso SUPRÊME+

    Octane 93

    L’essence Esso SUPRÊME+ est l’essence Esso dont l’indice d’octane est le plus élevé. Elle est uniquement offerte dans certaines stations Esso de la région du grand Toronto. L’essence Esso SUPRÊME+ contient plus d’agents nettoyants que nos autres catégories d’essence, lesquelles offrent déjà des niveaux de détergence supérieurs aux normes minimales du gouvernement.

Foire aux questions sur l’essence

En vous approvisionnant dans une station Esso, vous savez que votre véhicule reçoit de l’essence de CATÉGORIE SUPÉRIEURE. C’est une norme stricte établie par un organisme directeur composé de plusieurs constructeurs automobiles, qui la recommandent dans leurs manuels du propriétaire parce qu’elle dépasse les exigences en matière d’additifs détergents fixées par l’Office des normes générales du Canada (ONGC). L’essence Esso surpasse de loin le niveau de détergence exigé par l’ONGC et a passé de nombreux tests de rendement sur la réduction des dépôts. Ces résultats probants lui ont valu la certification CATÉGORIE SUPÉRIEURE. En plus d’aider à assurer la propreté de pièces essentielles du moteur, notre essence en retire les dépôts pendant que vous roulez.

Absolument ! On ajoute des détergents à l’essence pour qu’elle contribue à nettoyer des pièces essentielles du moteur, comme les injecteurs et les soupapes d’admission. Le gouvernement canadien exige que l’essence vendue au pays contienne toujours des détergents, mais la nôtre en contient beaucoup plus que les quantités minimales requises. Ces détergents ressemblent beaucoup à ceux des produits d’entretien ménager : ils servent à retirer les dépôts nocifs sur les soupapes d’admission et aident à garder les injecteurs propres*.
Si vous avez fait le plein avant les années 1990, vous vous souvenez peut-être que les stations proposaient l’essence « ordinaire » et la « sans plomb ». À l’époque, l’essence « ordinaire » contenait du plomb tétraéthyle, qui renforçait l’effet de l’octane dans le carburant. Tous les véhicules fabriqués après 1975 sont équipés d’un convertisseur catalytique et fonctionnent à l’essence sans plomb. Ce convertisseur transforme les polluants en gaz moins nocifs, comme le dioxyde de carbone, l’azote et la vapeur d’eau. Pour des raisons environnementales, l’essence avec plomb a été retirée du marché dans les années 1990 et ne peut plus être vendue au Canada. De nos jours, « ordinaire » ne veut plus dire que l’essence contient du plomb, mais qu’elle présente un certain indice d’octane.
La performance de l’essence dépend de bien des facteurs, notamment sa qualité antidétonante (aussi appelée l’indice d’octane), sa volatilité et sa détergence. Pour connaître l’indice d’octane qui convient le mieux à votre véhicule, consultez votre manuel du propriétaire.
Aussi appelée indice d’octane, cette qualité mesure la capacité de l’essence à résister aux cognements ou aux détonations durant la combustion. Comme c’est la vapeur d’essence (et non le carburant liquide) qui provoque l’allumage, il est essentiel que le mélange air-carburant soit approprié pour que la combustion se fasse correctement. Plus l’indice d’octane est élevé, plus grande sera la résistance du moteur aux cognements. Le cognement peut causer des problèmes comme la surchauffe de pièces essentielles du moteur, notamment les pistons, les bougies et les soupapes. Pour réduire les effets du cognement, les moteurs modernes sont dotés de capteurs qui retardent, au besoin, l’allumage de la bougie durant le cycle de compression du piston. Quoique ce dispositif prévienne les cognements audibles, retarder l’étincelle d’allumage entraîne une baisse de rendement du moteur.
Propriété de performance, la détergence d’une essence indique sa capacité à nettoyer et à protéger le système d’injection de carburant, dont le carburateur, les injecteurs et les soupapes d’admission. Un détergent à essence ressemble beaucoup à un détergent ménager ; il est composé de molécules qui se collent aux particules de saleté. Quand l’essence circule dans le moteur, ces molécules délogent les saletés et aident à empêcher l’accumulation de dépôts nocifs.
  • Une qualité sur laquelle vous pouvez compter

    Découvrez les mesures que nous prenons pour assurer la qualité de nos carburants.

    En savoir plus
  • Un carburant pour chaque véhicule

    Tirez le maximum de votre moteur – et de votre trajet – grâce à l’essence et au diesel SynergyMC d’Esso.

    En savoir plus
  • Profitez de nos conseils

    Explorez notre liste complète de conseils pour vous aider à améliorer le rendement énergétique de votre véhicule et à tirer le meilleur parti de chaque trajet.

    En savoir plus
  • Voici l’essence Synergy d’Esso

    Découvrez notre nouvelle essence SynergyMC, composée de 7 ingrédients clés et conçue pour contribuer à réduire la consommation de carburant.**

    En savoir plus
Esso et Esso Extra sont des marques de commerce de la Compagnie Pétrolière Impériale Ltée. Pétrolière Impériale, licencié. 
*S’applique à l’essence de marque Esso en comparaison avec de l’essence ne satisfaisant qu’aux normes minimales du gouvernement canadien sur la détergence des carburants, s’il y a lieu. Les avantages réels varient en fonction de facteurs comme le type de véhicule, le style de conduite et le type d’essence utilisé précédemment.
**Les améliorations, comme le rendement du carburant, sont basées sur l’essence de marque Synergy en comparaison avec de l’essence qui répond aux normes minimales du gouvernement canadien sur la détergence des carburants. Les avantages réels varient en fonction de facteurs comme le type de véhicule, le style de conduite et le type d’essence utilisé précédemment. Les marques de commerce utilisées aux présentes sont des marques de commerce ou des marques déposées d’Exxon Mobil Corporation ou de l’une de ses filiales.

Loading