Privacy statement

Imperial Oil Limited Web site
Imperial Oil Limited, its divisions, affiliates, partnerships and subsidiaries (collectively known as "Imperial Oil") respects the privacy of personal information provided by its shareholders, customers, contractors, suppliers, business associates and members of the public. As part of this commitment, Imperial Oil has established privacy principles to govern its actions as relating to the collection, use and disclosure of your personal information. These principles are based on the Canadian Standard Association's Model Code for the Protection of Personal Information and Canada's Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act

Information and Uses 

When someone visits the esso.ca web site (the “Site”), our web servers automatically gather information that allows the Site to communicate with the visitor's computer during the visit. We also track such information as the number of visits to the site, which parts of the site visitors select, IP address (the Internet address assigned to your computer from your Internet Service Provider), domain type, browser type (e.g., Firefox, Chrome or Internet Explorer), date and time of day. We use such information only for statistical purposes that help us design and administer the Site. 

Privacy concerns focus on Personal Information, that is, information that could identify a specific individual such as names, addresses, e-mail addresses, and telephone numbers. If during your visit you personalize the Site, complete an order form, enter a contest, or submit other information to us, you may provide us with Personal Information. We may collect and use that Personal Information to provide you with products or services, to bill you for products and services you request, to tell you about Imperial Oil products and services which we think may be of interest to you, or to communicate with you for other purposes. 

As a visitor of our Site, you may be asked that we read the geolocation of your computer or mobile device; this geolocation information will be used to provide the services you request such as showing the location of nearby service stations, and the route to service stations; we may also use this geolocation information to tell you about Imperial Oil products and services, for instance in combination with weather information about the geolocation of your computer or mobile device. If you do not wish us to use the geolocation information for such purposes, you can decline our request to read the geolocation; in that case, some of the services of our Site may not be delivered. We may provide the geolocation information to third parties who assist us in the provision of the services and communications to you through the Site. 

As explained below in the section on Dissemination of Information to Third Parties, we do not distribute or sell Personal Information to third parties for the purpose of allowing them to market their products and services to you; moreover, as explained in the Opt Out/Modify Information section, we will make a reasonable effort to remove your Personal Information from our database in such a way that you will not receive future communications from us, if that is your wish. If you notify us that Personal Information previously submitted to our site is no longer accurate, we will make a reasonable effort to make appropriate corrections. To facilitate our efforts to meet your request, it would be helpful if you could let us know the context in which you provided Personal Information, e.g in connection with promotion of a specific product or service. 

Information Placed on Your Computer 
We may store some information (commonly known as a "cookie") on your computer when you look at or use the Site. This information facilitates customizing your use of the Site and helps to avoid the need for you to re-enter your details every time you visit it. You can erase or block this information from your computer if you want to. (The ‘help’ screen in your browser or computer user manual should tell you how to do this.) 

We use third-party advertising technology to provide ads when you visit sites upon which we advertise. This technology will not process any information that can be used to personally identify you, that is it will not include your name, address, or other personal information. When you access an ad, a "cookie" file will be stored on your computer. This information is used to help manage our on-line advertising. To learn more about the third-party ad-serving technology, cookies, and how to "opt-out" please click here (note: you will be taken to a third-party website). 
  
Information From Children 
The Site contains information that may be of special interest to children, but Imperial Oil does not seek through the Site to gather Personal Information from or about persons under the age of 18. 

Hyperlinks 
This site has links to sites that Imperial Oil does not own, control or maintain. We cannot be responsible for their privacy policies and practices and we make no representations or warranties about the privacy practices of those sites. Similarly, we cannot be responsible for the policies and practices of any site from which you linked to our Site. We recommend that you check the privacy policy of other sites and contact the operator if you have concerns or questions. 

Dissemination of Information to Third Parties 
Communicating via the Internet and sending information, products, and services to you by other means necessarily involves your Personal Information passing through or being handled by third-parties, but Imperial Oil does not sell or distribute your Personal Information to third parties for purposes of allowing them to market their products and services to you. 

We employ other companies and individuals to perform functions on our behalf. Examples include fulfilling orders, deliveries, sending postal mail and e-mail, removing repetitive information from customer lists, analyzing data, providing marketing assistance, processing credit card payments and providing customer service. They have access to Personal Information needed to perform their functions, but may not use it for other purposes. 

Personal data collected by Imperial Oil may be transferred among its various divisions and affiliated companies, around the world. Such transfers may involve the transfer of Personal Information from countries within the European Economic Area to countries outside the E.E.A. By submitting data on the Site, the visitor provides explicit consent to these transfers, including transborder transmission of data covered by this Privacy Statement. 

Data Transfers 
We may transfer the Personal Information we collect about you to countries other than the country in which the information was originally collected. Those countries may not have the same data protection laws as the country in which you initially provided the information. When we transfer your information to other countries, we will protect that information as described in this Privacy Statement. 
  
Sensitive Information 
Imperial Oil does not seek any sensitive information from visitors to our Site, unless legally required to do so, for example, in connection with recruiting or hiring. Sensitive information includes a number of types of data relating to: race or ethnic origin, political opinions, religious or other similar beliefs, trade union membership, physical or mental health, sexual life or criminal record. We suggest that you do not provide sensitive information of this nature. However, if you do provide such information, Imperial Oil accepts your explicit consent to use that data in the ways described in this Privacy Statement or in the ways described at the point where such information is disclosed. 

Opt Out/Modify Information 

You may remove your personal information so you will not receive future communications, or you may modify your personal information that we have previously gathered. 

Conditions of Use, Notices and Revisions 
If you choose to visit our Site, your visit and any dispute over privacy is subject to this Privacy Statement and our General Terms of Use of our Site, including any limitations on damages, arbitration of disputes and application of law provisions. We reserve the right to change this statement at any time without notice. 

Contacting Imperial Oil about the content of this Privacy Statement 

You may address any questions or concerns about our compliance with these principles by contacting Imperial Oil's privacy manager. You may also contact Imperial Oil's privacy manager with any questions or complaints that you may have concerning your personal information.

Imperial Oil Limited
505 Quarry Park Blvd SE
Calgary, AB
T2C 5N1
Attention: Privacy Manager
Fax: 1-800-367-0585
E-mail: privacymanager@esso.ca
Telephone: 1-800-567-3776



Loading

Déclaration de confidentialité  

Site Web de la Compagnie Pétrolière Impériale Ltée
La Compagnie Pétrolière Impériale Ltée, ses divisions, ses sociétés affiliées, ses sociétés en nom collectif et ses filiales (collectivement désignées « l’Impériale ») respectent la confidentialité des renseignements personnels communiqués par ses actionnaires, ses clients, ses entrepreneurs, ses fournisseurs, ses associés commerciaux et les membres du public. Dans le cadre de cet engagement, l’Impériale a établi des principes de protection qui régissent son action en ce qui concerne la collecte, l’utilisation et la divulgation de vos renseignements personnels. Ces principes sont basés sur le Code type sur la protection des renseignements personnels de l’Association canadienne de normalisation et sur la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques du Canada.

Renseignements et utilisation 
Quand une personne visite le site Web esso.ca (« le site »), nos serveurs Web recueillent automatiquement des données leur permettant de communiquer avec l'ordinateur du visiteur pendant la visite. Nous enregistrons par ailleurs des renseignements tels que le nombre de visites du site, les sections du site sélectionnées par les visiteurs, l'adresse IP (l'adresse Internet assignée à votre ordinateur par votre fournisseur de service Internet), le type de domaine, le type de navigateur (p. ex., Firefox, Chrome ou Internet Explorer), la date et l'heure de la journée. Nous n'utilisons ces renseignements qu'à des fins d'établissement de statistiques qui nous aident dans la conception et l'administration du site. 

La confidentialité est centrée sur la protection des renseignements personnels, c’est-à-dire les renseignements qui permettraient d’identifier une personne ou une entité tels que les noms, les adresses, les adresses de courriel et les numéros de téléphone. Si, pendant votre visite sur le site, vous remplissez un formulaire de commande, participez à un concours ou nous fournissez d’autres informations, vous nous communiquerez éventuellement des renseignements personnels. Avec votre consentement, nous pouvons recueillir et utiliser ces renseignements personnels pour vous offrir ou vous vendre des produits ou des services, pour des besoins de facturation de ces derniers, pour vous présenter des produits et services de l'Impériale en pensant qu’ils pourraient vous intéresser, ou pour communiquer avec vous à d’autres fins. 

Puisque vous visitez notre site, nous pourrions vous demander de nous laisser lire la l'emplacement géographique de votre ordinateur ou appareil mobile; cette information de géolocalisation servira à vous fournir les services que vous demandez, notamment l'emplacement de stations-service situées à proximité ainsi que l'itinéraire pour vous y rendre; nous pourrions aussi utiliser ces renseignements pour vous présenter les produits et services de l'Impériale, par exemple ceux en rapport avec les informations météorologiques liées à l'emplacement géographique de votre ordinateur ou appareil mobile. Si vous ne voulez pas que nous utilisions l'information de géolocalisation à de telles fins, vous pouvez rejeter notre demande de lecture de cette information; le cas échéant, certains des services offerts sur notre site pourraient ne pas être accessibles. Nous pourrions fournir l'information de géolocalisation à des tiers qui nous aident dans la prestation des services et dans nos communications avec vous par l'intermédiaire du site.à 

Comme l'explique la section ci-dessous sur la diffusion de l'information à des tiers, nous ne distribuons et ne vendons pas de renseignements à des tiers afin de leur permettre de commercialiser leurs produits et services auprès de vous; en outre, comme l'explique la section Blocage ou modification des renseignements, nous ferons un effort raisonnable afin de retirer vos renseignements personnels de notre base de données de telle sorte que vous ne recevrez pas d'autres communications de nous, si c'est ce que vous désirez. Si vous nous avisez que des renseignements personnels que vous avez déjà transmis à notre site ne sont plus exacts, nous ferons un effort raisonnable afin d'y apporter les corrections nécessaires. Pour nous aider à répondre à vos demandes, il nous serait utile de savoir dans quel contexte vous avez fourni des renseignements personnels, p. ex., relativement à la promotion d'un produit ou service particulier. 

Renseignements enregistrés sur votre ordinateur 
Nous pouvons sauvegarder certains renseignements (dénommés des « cookies ») sur votre ordinateur lorsque vous visitez ou utilisez le site. Ces renseignements nous aident à personnaliser votre utilisation du site et vous évitent d'avoir à entrer de nouveau vos données chaque fois que vous le consultez. Vous pouvez effacer ou bloquer ces renseignements de votre ordinateur si vous le désirez. (Consultez la page Aide de votre navigateur ou le manuel d’utilisation de votre ordinateur pour connaître la procédure.) 

Nous utilisons une technologie publicitaire tierce pour diffuser des messages publicitaires lorsque vous visitez des sites sur lesquels nous faisons de la publicité. Cette technologie ne traitera aucun renseignement qui puisse servir à vous identifier personnellement, c’est-à-dire qu’elle n’inclura pas votre nom, votre adresse, ni aucun autre renseignement de nature personnelle. Lorsque vous accédez à une publicité, un cookie est sauvegardé sur votre ordinateur. Cette information nous aide à gérer notre publicité en ligne. Pour en savoir plus sur la technologie publicitaire de tiers, les témoins et la façon de vous prévaloir de l’option de blocage, veuillez cliquer ici (remarque : vous serez redirigé vers un site tiers).
  
Renseignements provenant des enfants 
Le site contient des renseignements présentant un intérêt particulier pour les enfants; cependant l'Impériale ne cherche pas à se servir de son site pour obtenir des renseignements personnels au sujet de personnes de moins de 18 ans. 

Hyperliens 
Le site contient des liens à des sites qui ne sont pas la propriété de l'Impériale, sur lesquels elle n'exerce aucun contrôle et dont elle n'assure pas la maintenance. Nous ne pouvons être tenus responsables de leurs politiques et pratiques relatives à la confidentialité, et nous ne faisons aucune déclaration ni ne donnons aucune garantie en la matière. De même, nous ne saurions être tenus responsables des politiques et des pratiques de tout site à partir duquel vous avez accédé à notre site. Nous vous conseillons de vérifier la politique de confidentialité de ces autres sites et de communiquer avec leur propriétaire si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations. 

Diffusion de l'information à des tiers 
La communication par Internet et l’envoi d’informations, de produits et de services par d’autres moyens repose nécessairement sur le transfert ou la manipulation de vos renseignements personnels par des tiers, mais l’Impériale ne cède pas ni ne distribue vos renseignements personnels à des tiers dans le but de leur permettre de vous vendre leurs produits ou services. 

Nous employons d'autres compagnies et personnes pour exécuter ces fonctions en notre nom. Par exemple, remplir les commandes, effectuer les livraisons, acheminer le courrier, envoyer des courriels, retirer les renseignements répétitifs des listes de clients, analyser des données, fournir de l'aide en matière de commercialisation, traiter les paiements par carte de crédit et assurer le service à la clientèle. Lesdites compagnies et personnes ont accès aux renseignements personnels dont elles ont besoin pour s'acquitter de ces fonctions, mais ne peuvent les utiliser à d'autres fins. 

L'Impériale peut partager les renseignements personnels qu'elle a recueillis avec ses diverses divisions et sociétés affiliées partout dans le monde. De tels transferts peuvent comprendre le transfert de renseignements personnels de pays de l'Espace économique européen à des pays en dehors de l'EEE. En fournissant des données sur le site, le visiteur donne son consentement explicite à ces transferts, y compris la transmission transfrontalière de données dont traite la déclaration de confidentialité. 

Transfert de données 
Il se peut que nous transmettions les renseignements personnels que nous avons recueillis à votre sujet à des pays autres que celui d'où ils proviennent. Ces pays pourraient ne pas appliquer les mêmes lois en matière de protection des données que celles du pays d'où proviennent les renseignements. Lorsque nous transférons vos renseignements personnels à d'autres pays, nous les protégeons de la manière décrite dans la déclaration de confidentialité. 

Renseignements sensibles 
L'Impériale ne cherche pas à obtenir des renseignements sensibles des visiteurs de son site, à moins d'être légalement tenue de le faire, par exemple en rapport avec le recrutement ou l'embauche. Les renseignements sensibles comprennent certains types de données ayant trait aux domaines suivants : la race ou l'origine ethnique, les opinions politiques, les croyances religieuses ou autres croyances similaires, l'adhésion syndicale, la santé physique ou mentale, la vie sexuelle ou le casier judiciaire. Nous vous conseillons de ne fournir aucun renseignement sensible de cette nature. Toutefois, si vous fournissez malgré tout des renseignements de cette nature, l'Impériale accepte votre consentement explicite à ce que les données soient utilisées des façons décrites dans la déclaration de confidentialité ou des façons décrites à l'endroit où ces renseignements sont divulgués. 

Blocage ou modification des renseignements 
Vous pouvez retirer vos renseignements personnels de façon à ne plus recevoir de communications ou vous pouvez modifier les renseignements personnels que nous avons recueillis précédemment sur vous. 

Conditions d’utilisation, avis et révisions 
Si vous choisissez de visiter notre site, votre visite et tout différend portant sur la confidentialité seront assujettis à ladite déclaration de confidentialité et aux conditions générales d'utilisation de notre site, y compris toute limite quant aux dommages, à l'arbitrage des différends et à l'application des dispositions législatives. Nous nous réservons le droit de modifier cette déclaration en tout temps et sans préavis. 

Communication avec l'Impériale au sujet du contenu de la déclaration de confidentialité 

Vous pouvez adresser toute question ou toute préoccupation concernant le respect de ces principes au directeur – Protection des renseignements personnels de l’Impériale. Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec le directeur – Protection des renseignements personnels de l’Impériale pour tout problème ou plainte concernant vos renseignements personnels.

Compagnie Pétrolière Impériale Ltée
505 Quarry Park Blvd SE
Calgary (Alberta)
T2C 5N1
À l’attention du directeur - Protection des renseignements personnels
Télécopieur : 1 800 367-0585
Courriel : privacymanager@esso.ca
Téléphone : 1 800 567-3776

Loading