As the situation with COVID-19 continues to evolve, Imperial is taking proactive and preventative measures to protect the health and safety of our workforce and do our part to limit the spread of the novel coronavirus in the community. The company has well-established business continuity plans in place to manage impacts related to infectious disease outbreaks. Read more

semi driving on a road

Fuelling fleet operational efficiency: Proper diesel storage

  • As it stands, diesel fuel storage isn’t always top of mind for fleet owners, but as vehicle emission requirements become stricter and freight demand grows, diesel fuel quality is becoming a greater area of focus. The value gained from investing in fuel storage maintenance cannot be overlooked. Properly maintaining fuel storage equipment by minimizing contamination from water and particulate can help save your fleet money and keep your vehicles on the road. Working with your diesel fuel supplier to ensure a best-in-class fuel storage maintenance strategy is essential.


Better fuel quality means fleets run more efficiently, which in turn helps a fleet owner’s business run smoothly. However, fuel can be easily contaminated if it’s not stored correctly. So, why isn’t there more emphasis on proper diesel fuel storage?

The average fleet spends between 30 and 40 per cent of its maintenance, repair and operations (MRO) budget on fuel, according to an analysis by the American Transportation Research Institute (ATRI). Yet fuel quality or storage was not listed among the concerns in ATRI's annual Top 10 Critical Issues in the Trucking Industry report in 2017. Every individual step in the supply chain matters, and proper diesel fuel storage is critical to the performance of a fleet. Otherwise, the fuel supply may fall victim to a variety of common storage problems such as water and particulates, ultimately affecting fleet performance and efficiency.

Fleet owners risk the occurrence of two common storage problems – water and particulates – when the fuel is not stored properly.

The presence of water in tanks is the most common on-site storage issue.

water droplet

Common Storage Problem No. 1: Water

The presence of water in tanks is the most common on-site storage issue. However, there are practices to help ensure water contamination and accumulation in storage tanks is minimized.

There are several common causes of water entry into a storage tank. Rain or surface water from a weather event may enter the storage tank through the fill point during a receipt or through intrusion at various points on the tank. Spill buckets surrounding a fill point may contain water and could have been emptied into the storage tank. Tank venting to the atmosphere combined with daily temperature fluctuations can result in condensation that impacts water levels in the fuel tank.

Tanks should be checked for the presence of water through automatic tank gauging equipment or, in the absence of such equipment, through daily use of water-finding paste. If automatic tank gauging equipment is used, it is recommended that the equipment be compared at least monthly with a paste measurement to validate it is responding properly. While you should strive for no water contamination, it is recommended that water levels should be no more than one inch in any bulk storage tank.

To keep water levels at a minimum, regular water removal is required. To limit chances of dispensing water, submersible pumps should be set at least 15 centimetres above the bottom of the storage tanks. In new tank construction, consider tank slanting so water collects on the opposite end of the submersible pump. Storage tanks should also be kept as full as possible, as less air in tanks minimizes water condensation due to tank venting and daily temperature fluctuations. Fleet operators should also visually examine the appearance of the fuel for any haziness or the presence of a water layer.

Particulate such as rust or debris can contaminate the fuel.

different size gears

Common Storage Problem No. 2: Particulate Contamination

Another common storage problem is particulate contamination. Diesel fuel comes into contact with many different surfaces throughout the fuel distribution system and in service station storage tanks. Debris or rust may be disturbed from surfaces and remain suspended in the fuel or collect in the bottom of a storage tank. This can lead to particulate contamination when fuel is mixed during receipt of a shipment or when dispensed fuel is pulled from the bottom of the storage tank. Over time, the fuel itself may also oxidize and produce particulate.

Filters are necessary to limit particulate from being dispensed from the storage tank. A nominal filter porosity of 10 microns is recommended. To address particulate transfer while also limiting passage of water, particulate filters that include water absorbance capabilities should be used. Monitoring of flow rates through dispensers to indicate dispenser filter plugging and checking fuel filter condition within your fleet should be done at regular intervals to indicate premature filter plugging, which may be a sign of contaminated fuel that has an increased risk of entering your engine. Consider checking the particulate and water loading of your fleet fuel filters at every oil-drain interval to ensure optimal operations.

Should contaminated fuel ever reach fleet engines, engine issues like rough idling, poor running or even engine damage may result. To prevent contamination, fleets must proactively maintain their fuel storage tanks to ensure the quality of their diesel fuel to optimize operation of their fleets. Fleets should have a comprehensive maintenance program in place with key measures including storage-tank maintenance and cleaning, filtration maintenance, epoxy lining of storage tanks, and water mitigation.

Regulation

Federal, provincial and local regulations may apply for fuel storage tanks, tank contents and fuel dispensing equipment. As laws and regulations vary by location, it’s important to familiarize yourself with the applicable laws and regulations for where your tank is located.

Over the years, several industry organizations have also published recommended best practices that some fuel handlers have used as guiding principles. The American Petroleum Institute (API), ASTM International, Coordinating Research Council (CRC), and Steel Tank Institute (STI) have all published reports and guidelines that serve as the basis of many current diesel fuel-storage practices.

check mark

Why it matters

As it stands, diesel fuel storage isn’t always top of mind for fleet owners. However, they will begin to recognize the importance of this practice as the auto industry evolves. As vehicle emission requirements become stricter and vehicle durability grows in importance, fuel quality is becoming a greater area of focus.

Overall, fleets should work closely with their diesel fuel supplier to devise a best-in-class maintenance strategy and mitigate degradation across the equipment lifecycle. Freight demands and the continued growth in the transport of goods has never created a greater need for proper diesel fuel storage. In fact, the ExxonMobil 2018 Outlook for Energy: A View to 2040 expects global transportation-related energy demand will grow 30 per cent through 2040, with the largest volume coming from heavy-duty vehicle growth. Certain applications, such as mining operations that experience higher levels of dust and dirt on a normal basis, need to be even more aware of potential diesel-storage issues. Fleets need to make their dollars go further and keep trucks on the road by ensuring their diesel fuel supply is properly stored to optimize operational effectiveness.


Full article originally published on vehicleservicepros.com.

Contact us

505 Quarry Park Blvd. S.E.
Calgary, Alberta T2C 5N1

esso diesel truck front

Esso diesel efficient™

Getting greater fuel efficiency from your fleet is crucial to your business’s financial success. That’s why we developed Esso Diesel Efficient fuel, which has been demonstrated to bring fuel efficiency savings to your fleet.

Learn more
writing on documents

Ease of doing business

Whether it’s terminal wait times, customer communication or product availability, we are dedicated to making your experience faster, easier and more efficient.

Learn more
Worker at a fuels factory

Supply reliability

We strive to bring you the product you need, when you need it and where you need it. Learn about how we maintain product integrity, and find your closest terminal in our extensive network.

Learn more

Alors que la situation liée à la pandémie de COVID-19 continue d’évoluer, L’Impériale prend des mesures proactives et préventives pour protéger la santé et la sécurité de ses employés et aider à limiter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus dans la collectivité. L’Impériale dispose de plans de continuité des activités de longue date qui lui permettent de gérer les retombées d’épidémies de maladie infectieuse. Savior Plus.

semi driving on a road

Rentabilité du ravitaillement des parcs de véhicules : Stockage approprié du diesel

Dans les faits, le stockage du carburant diesel n’est pas un sujet de première importance pour les propriétaires de parcs de véhicules. Toutefois, à mesure que les exigences en matière d’émissions se font plus rigoureuses et que la demande de services de fret grandit, la qualité du carburant diesel retient de plus en plus l’attention. L’entretien régulier du matériel de stockage de carburant constitue un investissement dont la valeur ne peut pas être négligée. L’entretien adéquat du matériel de stockage de carburant en réduisant au maximum la contamination par l’eau et les particules peut vous aider à économiser de l’argent destiné à votre parc et garder vos véhicules sur la route. Votre fournisseur de carburant diesel peut vous aider à mettre en œuvre une stratégie d’entretien du matériel de stockage de carburant de premier ordre.


Un carburant de meilleure qualité contribue à la rentabilité des parcs de véhicules, ce qui en retour, contribue à la rentabilité de l’entreprise. Cependant, le carburant peut facilement être contaminé s’il n’est pas stocké correctement. Pourquoi alors ne parle-t-on pas davantage du stockage du carburant diesel?

Un parc de taille moyenne consacre de 30 à 40 % de son budget d’entretien, de réparation et d’exploitation à l’achat de carburant, selon une analyse du American Transportation Research Institute (ATRI). Malgré cela, la qualité ou le stockage du carburant ne figurent pas au nombre des enjeux identifiés dans le rapport annuel qu’a publié l’ATRI en 2017 sous le titre Top 10 Critical Issues in the Trucking Industry. Chaque étape particulière de la chaîne d’approvisionnement est importante, et le stockage approprié du carburant diesel est essentiel au rendement d’un parc de véhicules. Le carburant risque sinon de présenter divers problèmes courants liés au stockage, comme la présence d’eau et de particules, qui affecteront en définitive le rendement et la rentabilité du parc.

Avant de passer en revue les problèmes courants liés au stockage, les propriétaires de parcs de véhicules devraient savoir ce qui différencie le diesel ordinaire du biodiesel.

La présence d’eau dans les réservoirs est le problème le plus courant lorsque le carburant est stocké sur place

water droplet

Problème de stockage n° 1 : l’eau

La présence d’eau dans les réservoirs est le problème le plus courant lorsque le carburant est stocké sur place. Étant donné que la plupart des réservoirs de stockage de diesel sont disposés à l’extérieur et dotés d’un évent atmosphérique, la condensation causée par les variations de température extrêmes peut affecter la quantité d’eau qui s’y trouve. Le niveau de l’eau peut aussi fluctuer selon la façon dont le produit est formulé et transporté. La présence d’eau dans le carburant diesel est fondamentalement inévitable. Cependant, il existe des pratiques exemplaires qui permettent de minimiser la contamination par l’eau.

Les réservoirs doivent être vérifiés toutes les semaines pour y déceler la présence d’eau, en utilisant une pâte réactive à l’eau. On estime que le niveau de l’eau dans un réservoir de stockage en vrac ne devrait pas dépasser huit centimètres. Afin de maintenir le niveau de l’eau au minimum, il est recommandé de soutirer l’eau régulièrement. Les réservoirs de stockage doivent aussi rester aussi pleins que possible; moins d’air dans les réservoirs minimise la condensation de l’eau et ralentit l’oxydation du carburant. Les exploitants de parcs de véhicules doivent également examiner l’aspect du carburant stocké. Si le carburant semble trouble, la quantité d’eau dans le réservoir peut être excessive.

Il est essentiel que le niveau de l’eau soit réduit au minimum pour prévenir la croissance microbienne, en particulier dans les climats humides. Les microbes se développent en présence d’eau, créant des boues, des moisissures et autres proliférations bactériennes qui peuvent recouvrir les surfaces et boucher les filtres. Ce point est particulièrement important dans le cas des carburants ayant un contenu biologique, qui sont plus propices à la croissance microbienne, selon le Biodiesel Handling and Use Guide du Department of Energy des États-Unis.

Particules, comme de la rouille ou des débris, peuvent s’en détacher et se mélanger au carburant

different size gears

Problème de stockage n° 2 : les particules

Les particules sont un autre problème courant lié au stockage. Le carburant diesel entre en contact avec diverses surfaces métalliques tout au long de la chaîne d’approvisionnement. Au fil du temps, ces surfaces peuvent se dégrader et des particules, comme de la rouille ou des débris, peuvent s’en détacher et se mélanger au carburant. Le carburant lui-même s’oxyde et peut produire des particules.

Il faut utiliser des filtres pour s’assurer que ces particules ne passent pas du réservoir de stockage au réservoir des véhicules. Par conséquent, les filtres de vos distributeurs et de vos véhicules doivent être vérifiés à intervalles réguliers pour éviter qu’ils se bouchent trop rapidement, ce qui pourrait indiquer que votre carburant est compromis et que vous risquez d’utiliser du carburant contaminé dans vos moteurs. Envisagez de remplacer les filtres à carburant de votre parc de véhicules à chaque intervalle de vidange d’huile afin d’assurer un fonctionnement optimal.

Pour empêcher toute contamination, les parcs de véhicules doivent entretenir leurs réservoirs de stockage de carburant de manière proactive afin d’assurer la qualité de leur carburant diesel et d’optimiser l’exploitation de leurs parcs de véhicules. Les parcs de véhicules devraient avoir mis en place un programme d’entretien complet prévoyant aussi bien l’entretien des filtres que l’ajout d’un revêtement époxyde. S’il arrivait que du carburant contaminé soit utilisé dans des moteurs, il se pourrait que ces moteurs présentent davantage de problèmes, comme un ralenti instable, un fonctionnement irrégulier et même des dommages matériels.

Réglementation

Bien qu’il n’y ait pas de réglementation fédérale concernant les réservoirs de stockage de carburant, les politiques peuvent varier selon la province ou le pays. Par conséquent, il est important que vous connaissiez les lois de la région où se trouve votre réservoir.

Au fil des ans, plusieurs organismes du secteur ont également publié des recommandations sur les pratiques exemplaires que certains distributeurs de carburant ont utilisées comme principes directeurs. L’API, l’ASTM International et le Coordinating Research Council (CRC) sont des associations américaines qui ont toutes publié des rapports et des directives à l’origine de nombreuses pratiques actuelles en matière de stockage de carburant diesel.

  • check mark

    Pourquoi est-ce si important?

    Dans les faits, le stockage du carburant diesel n’est pas un sujet de première importance pour les propriétaires de parcs de véhicules. Ils commenceront cependant à en prendre conscience avec l’évolution du secteur automobile.À mesure que les exigences en matière d’émissions se font plus rigoureuses et que la durabilité des véhicules prend de l’importance, la qualité du carburant retient de plus en plus l’attention.

    Dans l’ensemble, les parcs de véhicules doivent travailler en étroite collaboration avec leur fournisseur de carburant diesel afin d’élaborer une stratégie d’entretien de premier ordre et d’atténuer la dégradation sur l’ensemble du cycle de vie du matériel. La demande de services de fret et la croissance continue du secteur du transport de marchandises rendent plus que jamais nécessaire le besoin d’assurer le stockage adéquat du carburant diesel. En fait, selon le document Perspectives énergétiques 2017 à l’horizon 2040 d’L’Impériale, l’utilisation du diesel à l’échelle mondiale continuera d’augmenter d’environ 30 % d’ici 2040, principalement pour répondre à la demande croissante dans le secteur du camionnage. Par conséquent, les parcs de véhicules doivent maximiser leur budget et garder les camions sur la route en veillant à ce que leur approvisionnement de carburant diesel soit correctement stocké, de façon à optimiser la rentabilité.


Initialement publié sur vehicleservicepros.com.

Nous joindre

505 Quarry Park Blvd. S.E.
Calgary (Alberta) T2C 5N1

Plusieurs camions de parc stationnés

Esso Diesel EfficientMC

L’efficacité du carburant utilisé par votre parc de véhicules est cruciale pour le succès financier de votre entreprise. Voilà pourquoi nous avons mis au point le carburant Esso Diesel Efficient; il vous permet de faire des économies de carburant pour votre parc – c’est prouvé.

En savoir plus
écriture et signature de document

Facilité des relations commerciales

Qu’il s’agisse du temps d’attente aux dépôts, des communications avec les clients ou de la disponibilité des produits, nous nous engageons à rendre votre expérience plus rapide, plus simple et plus efficace.

En savoir plus
Travailleur de raffinerie

Fiabilité de l’approvisionnement

Nous nous efforçons de vous fournir le produit dont vous avez besoin, lorsque vous en avez besoin, et à l’endroit où vous en avez besoin. Découvrez comment nous maintenons l’intégrité des produits et repérez le dépôt qui se trouve le plus près dans notre réseau étendu.

En savoir plus